42 messages
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
grufty jim
grufty jim
1978 posts

Edited May 03, 2006, 16:16
Re: wind farms
May 03, 2006, 16:06
Bonzo, I take the somewhat unpopular view that we should indeed extend the lives of our current batch of nuclear power stations *as part of a strategy to switch to a sustainable model*. However, the current debate is not centered on that issue at all. The question being put before the government and people is whether or not to expand nuclear power generation in order to take up the slack from depleting fossil fuel reserves. To be pro-nuclear in the current climate is to take that line, and that's where I saw you as coming from. If like me, you're just talking about an extension to the lifespan of current reactors (incidentally, they can't be extended much beyond a handful of years) then we're not really at cross-purposes.

However, you do appear to be wrong on some of the details.

>
> Now, I am no expert and only pick up what comes
> to me over the net & such, but, despite the fact that
> I've read about the predictions of 50 years worth of
> uranium, I've also read that these predictions are
> somewhat biased in that it would be the case if the
> whole world switched to nuclear.
>
That's completely incorrect. The Australian Government report which contains the data can be read here:
http://www.asno.dfat.gov.au/annual_report_9900/nuc_ind_current_issues.html

Direct from the horses mouth. The key lines, in this context, are:
>
> [a]t current rates of consumption, existing and
> estimated uranium reserves recoverable ... are
> sufficient for only about 50-60 years. Growth in
> the nuclear industry will reduce this period.
>
That's pretty damn specific.