42 messages
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Bonzo the Cat
Bonzo the Cat
138 posts

Edited May 03, 2006, 15:15
Re: wind farms
May 03, 2006, 15:07
You make several points Grufty One. Like the fact that we will simply *have* to cut down our exuberant energy consumption. What you say is true, it's not a matter of choice, but of "will simply have to".

Other good point is the long term effects of nuclear waste. True, even for the effects of Tchernobyl, which are minimized by a number of parties pointing at the thriving wildlife in the zone, it is still premature to measure the consequences, as Hiroshima-consequences scientists have pointed out. Still the limited size of the waste will keep its effects smaller than the vast global er... yes, why not call it evolutionary armageddon, that is the consequence of fossile fule consumption. Anyway, enough of comparing with these evildoers...

Now, I am no expert and only pick up what comes to me over the net & such, but, despite the fact that I've read about the predictions of 50 years worth op uranium, I've also read that these predictions are somewhat biased in that it would be the case if the whole world switched to nuclear. I've also heard that there is a "super-abundance" of low-grade uranium (granite, thorium), which still can supply 5x more energy than the same mass of coal.

Still, you've got a good point also with the industry needed to get to these fuels. I have to admit I hadn't thought about that. Still, what do you think they make these windmills with? True, it's not such heavy industry.