Soundtracks of Our Lives week ending 20 January 2013 CE

34 messages
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
paradox
paradox
1576 posts

Re: Soundtracks of Our Lives week ending 20 January 2013 CE
Jan 21, 2013, 09:13
1) Lee Perry and Friends - Disco Devil-The Jamaican Discomixes ..... this came out at the back end of last year. I saw it in my local indie emporium, felt skint and left it, forgot about it till a web browse a few days ago made me realise what a tremendous release this might be. Just how good it is: better than I could ever have hoped for. A collection of Scratch's ultra-rare 12" mixes from '77-'79...and absolutely faultless. I've been collecting Lee's stuff for thirty-five years and right now I'm wondering if this is the best I've come across.

The nearest comparison is his Open The Gate set, where quite a few of the tracks here may be found, but I think most are different versions - I need to play Gate again to be sure, but that involves removing this from my player. A problem. Great remastering, compiled, like the Trojan Dub set that Paradox and I like hugely, with respect and knowledge and..love.

This is Lee taking his output and abilities to the extreme. Two and a half hours of invention without a foot wrong.. it just flows. Music to move to. Anyone who remains puzzled as to why some people hold Perry in such regard needs to hear this: all becomes clear.

This set should be called Open Your Ears. Murvin, Faith, Congos, Burnett, Heptones, Alimontado, Lee himself..I thought I knew this stuff and how far it had been taken, and was wrong.

It was suggested recently that people's 2012 'best of' lists should be reevaluated in a month or two..this indubitably proves the wisdom of that. Up to a couple of days ago I would have said that Can's Lost Tapes was my 'from the vaults' favourite of last year.