Topic View: Flat | Threaded
PMM
PMM
3155 posts

Edited Feb 05, 2010, 07:16
Re: Mainstream media starts to wake up on climate change fraud
Feb 05, 2010, 02:35
DarkMagus wrote:
Now I really know you're lost! You are giving dubious simplistic black and white examples & extrapolating to real world complex ones e.g. climate.

You're partially correct. I am simplifying things. This is a discussion board, not PhD thesis, and I'm limited in both time and available characters. I'm also trying to put what I understand in simple terms, rather than getting myself or my audience bogged down with the minutae. Also, I'm a layman, not a scientist. I have a general understanding, but I'm not an expert. I am an expert driver though, should you wish to pick me up on this point. Not being an expert doesn't prevent people from having enough understanding to be able to drive.

DarkMagus wrote:
You don't know how the various factors (yes including the sun & CO2) interact in the Earth to drive climate one way or the other over the long term. Nobody does! I'll reiterate: the starting conditions are not known precisely & the interactions are poorly understood. Which of those two statements is false? Even if the second IS false, my arguement holds.

OK. Here's a jug of water. I don't know how hot it is. Now I'm going to put it in the microwave for 2 minutes. Sorry but I don't precisely understand how microwaves affect things. Something to do with radiation, isn't it? I am just a humble nobody after all.

So I don't know the starting conditions, and I don't understand how it works. Will the water in the jug get hotter? Or is it impossible for me to predict?

Yup. I'm giving a simplified answer again. Do you understand the point I'm trying to make? If so, do you accept that it's not always necessary to know the precise starting positions or the precise nature of the inteactions in order to form a general idea of how things behave?

DarkMagus wrote: