Sgt Pepper must die!

48 messages
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Daminxa
Daminxa
1415 posts

Re: Sgt Pepper must die!
Jun 15, 2007, 20:55
That article has made me see some albums I really like in a different light as it goes. It's true, I DON'T dig out my copy of 'Nevermind' and think 'I HAVE to listen to this now, it's fucking BRILLIANT!' I like 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' because it reminds me of some kick ass times in the 1990's when I was a pissed up student trying to dance without falling on my arse, but the rest of the album; well it ain't all that really is it? And it's true Kurt Cobain was a victim of his own hype and was guilty of an awful lot of 'naval gazing'. When he died, the bloke I was with at the time bought himself a T-shirt with a massive picture of Kurt Cobain on it holding a gun in his mouth bearing the legend 'Dead? Nevermind. Nice Shooting Son!' Now I still think that's in remarkably poor taste and I'm surprised he never got any death threats over it but there was something slightly Lady Dianaesque about Kurt Cobain's death and his subsequent canonisation; left me feeling uneasy...

The Stone Roses album; well I've got to admit I thought that with the excption of 'Made of Stone' it was the biggest heap of shite I'd ever heard, but in later years I mellowed towards the album and developed a crush on Mani so I now have a soft spot for that record and can't slate it too badly, although I did think what the chap said in that article was extremely funny!