Tombo's weblogs...

Pages: 18 – [ Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Steve Gray
Steve Gray
931 posts

Re: Tombo's weblogs...
Sep 23, 2003, 00:18
Yes, thanks Nigel, I enjoyed reading it too.

I'm very much an analyst, a rationaliser, a scientist, yet I am aware of a sense of spirituality (in a non-religious way); of feelings that transcend reason, and yet I find no conflict in this duality.

There are places (usually ancient) that inspire a great sense of connectedness; stone circles, tombs, ruins, ancient forests, caves, mountains, water in all it's forms. As a scientist, I am happy to accept that there are things I don't know, things I can't explain. That doesn't stop me from wanting to know, from seeking to explain. After all, science is a quest for knowledge; if we know everything, science itself ceases to have meaning.

What really gets my goat, though, is when people state as fact things that are just not true, and this is where I concur with 4W. There's a big difference between saying "When I stand here amongst these stones I feel a great sense of power" on the one hand, and "these stones radiate power" on the other. The former is a subjective expression that appeals to my spirituality. The latter is an objective statement that offends my rationality.

Am I a skeptic? ... Yes. Am I a cynic? ... When necessary. Am I a Megarak? ... No, I don't think so.
FourWinds
FourWinds
10943 posts

Sep 23, 2003, 07:24
http://www.themodernantiquarian.com/image.php?image_id=19712

I can look at stones like this and know that some extreme devotion drove somebody to have it carved (it's La Tene Bronze Age, so the carver could well have been devoted to gold, but the person who commisioned it probably did it for another reason - although it could just be a Bronze Age garden gnome!). I can sit and follow its patterns and get lost in their beauty and it moves me; emotionally. I choose not to call that 'spirituality' but 'appreciation'.