The bluestone debate

Pages: 39 – [ Previous | 133 34 35 36 37 38 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Littlestone
Littlestone
5386 posts

Re: The bluestone debate
Dec 13, 2008, 22:01
Good to see the thread is up and running again. Thought it might have been permanently shut off...

Nah, though as its originator I think I might be entitled to shut it down for 24 hours while tempers cool and it's given the chance to get back on topic ;-)

The point is that just because you believe that Neolithic tribes were capable of transporting stones from A to B, that does not mean they actually did it.

Quite. I'm no expert, and can't back up my belief that the stones were transported by human means but (rightly or wrongly) it's my gut feeling that that's how they got to where they are. Happy to be proved wrong though - that's what this debate is all about :-)
nigelswift
8112 posts

Dec 13, 2008, 23:44
I don't think anyone here has been guilty of being "determined to maintain the human transport theory" if by that is meant "determined to maintain it happened". All I've seen is people saying it remains a feasible theory so far.

The evidence for small megaliths being portable is overwhelming. Not sure why you feel you haven't seen any. How about the fact that huge megaliths are at Stonehenge, that's "evidence" of microlithic portability ain't it?
tiompan
tiompan
5758 posts

Dec 14, 2008, 00:05
mountainman wrote:

In fact, the availability of stone was the prime factor in fixing location. Why should Stonehenge have been any different?

Whilst I accept the possiblity of the glaciation theory in relation to Stonehenge , that doesn't mean that great efforts didn't take place to move stones long distances . The is plenty proof of that .