Pages: 4 – [ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Kid Calamity
9044 posts

Edited Mar 10, 2009, 15:42
Re: PRS, license to do fuck all.
Mar 10, 2009, 15:38
Squid Tempest wrote:
As a musician myself I agree with you. However, I can understand where Micmacmoc is coming from. It is a bit much to expect a small shop like his to fork out £300. They would be better charging more realistic amounts. At least then the musicians would get something back from his enterprise. As it is, small businesses will either not play the CDs or will try to do it illegally, neither of which benefits the musician.

I think I agree... But, say, a small gallery cum coffee shop in somewhere like... let's say, Mevagissy - which doesn't sell records, yet uses music to augment the atmosphere its visitors and customers enjoy paid a small contribution, based on type of business/turn over, surely that might be more fair.

Also, say even if they didn't subscribe to PRS - not paying a penny towards the musicians' fund, but were playing a record by someone like... umm, let's say Inkberrow alternatives 'And Also The Trees' - Now, a visitor, whilst at the counter forking out for a seascape painting might ask the slightly bleary eyed manager who the dark melodramatic music's by as they've never heard it before and want to go and get a copy. The band are more likely to get a little more exposure and possibly a record sale as the gallery was effectively advertising their product - whilst using it to effectively help advertise their own.

Isn't it a bit like having the radio on at work?
vince
vince
1628 posts

Re: Youtube to take down music video content in the UK
Mar 10, 2009, 15:53
You're absolutely right KC...in an ideal world. But we ARE talking about the 'music business' here so there has to be at least 99% bullshit involved!!
Squid Tempest
Squid Tempest
8761 posts

Mar 10, 2009, 16:37
Kid Calamity wrote:
Squid Tempest wrote: