Head To Head
Register
The Modern Antiquarian Forum »
Trethevy Quoit »
A clean slate? (or should that be granite?)

Pages: 16 – [ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 9 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Horsedrawn
55 posts

Re: A clean slate? (or should that be granite?)
May 03, 2011, 18:27
I hesitate to recommend this technique for the reasons you mention. Do not try this at home. However, I have been doing this at many sites for 20 years and my eyes are checked regularly; there is no damage. The sun can be observed, indeed gazed upon, once the 'glare of the sky' is removed. The Solar Corona can be seen. My own research led me to this many years ago and the work of Professor North, of the University of Groeningen confirmed it. These little known optical qualities are on display at Newgrange, Maes Howe and Loughcrew. I would be glad to furnish a full explanation of the Optical Dynamics. The point is that Newgrange is now accepted as the oldest astronomically aligned structure in the world. Perhaps no longer.

David Kane.
cerrig
187 posts

May 03, 2011, 18:30
Do you know of any references I could look up concerning this Mesopotamian link. I would like to know how they could have judged this without another means of timing it.
Resonox
604 posts

May 03, 2011, 18:58
Horsedrawn wrote:
The short answer is yes. The rising sun lights the underside of Stone 8 (the capstone) through two apertures towards the East. One is bigger than the other, and I suspect this is due to an understanding of the Equation of Time. This subject is under study. The differences between the extremes; midwinter and midsummer, that is, how the 'daggers' of light play upon the capstone's underside, and other places, suggest strongly that the principles of the Equation of Time were understood and taken into account. I emphasise here that none of this is conclusive, but I would add that such things were understood well at the same time in Mesopotamia, so why not here?

David Kane.