Pages: 3 – [ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Kid Calamity
9047 posts

Edited Mar 26, 2017, 21:06
Re: Soundtracks of Our Lives week ending 25 March 2017 CE
Mar 26, 2017, 21:04
Ooh, glad you approve, Moon Cat!

Just to clarify, Peyote Guru are a band of varying lineup, who play around a core trio. I'm just a guest drummer, every now and then, really. Back in Autumn 2015 I joined them for a full weekend in Dave Anderson's Foel Studio in the Welsh wilds for all manner of musical adventures. I wasn't their first choice. That said, I have since returned to their drum stool for a few small festival appearances. And, I mixed and fixed the rough mixes you have there.

I might also add that this isn't the only soundtrack I play on in this week's list.
Fatalist
Fatalist
1123 posts

Mar 26, 2017, 21:24
Ulver – The Assassination Of Julius Caesar. I really must stop listening to Ulver albums, as it’s such a frustrating experience. Whether it’s industrial metal, 70s prog, psychedelic improv, or in the case of their latest, 80s-flavoured electro-rock, they always promise to deliver something compelling, but always seem to fall short. The hand of Grumbling Fur’s Daniel O’Sullivan is stronger than ever here, but he did this kind of thing much better himself on the second Mothlight album. There’s nothing here that’s completely awful, but it’s often just a bit… naff.

Jane Weaver – Modern Kosmology. This on the other hand is absolutely super. The Broadcast-channelling title track is on the new Mojo freebie CD if you fancy a preview.

Cakewalk – Ishihara

Blown Out – Superior Venus

Trimdon Grange Explosion – s/t. All these three are great too.