Julian Cope—
Self Civil War

Head Heritage / 2020ce
  1. That Ain’t No Way to Make a Million
  2. A Cosmic Flash
  3. You Will Be Mist
  4. The Great Raven
  5. Berlin Facelift
  6. Immortal
  7. Einstein
  8. Billy
  9. A Dope on Drugs
  10. Your Facebook, My Laptop
  11. Requiem for a Dead Horse
  12. ‘Self Civil War’
  13. A Victory Dance
Celebrate the arrival of this new decade with Julian Cope’s rampant new album SELF CIVIL WAR. Crammed with songs that reach deep inside you, each possessed of its own micro-worldview, SELF CIVIL WAR showcases Cope’s songwriting at its most searching since JEHOVAHKILL. Road-testing the zeitgeist with kitchen sink psycho-dramas like ‘A Dope on Drugs’, ‘Your Facebook, My Laptop’ and ‘Billy’, SELF CIVIL WAR also showcases the insightful Heroic Ballads ‘Einstein’ ‘You Will Be Mist’ and ‘The Great Raven’. In typical Cope stylee, the 13 songs of SELF CIVIL WAR brim with sound FX, enormous orchestral arrangements, timeless uprisings of Ur-folk and hefty near-Krautrock anthems. It’s the first release in Cope’s ‘Our Troubled Times’ series, and a fine temporary refuge from our daily bombardment by media luvvies and fuckhead world leaders who take us all for idiots.