Unsung Forum »
I Am A Faust Newbie

Pages: 2 – [ 1 2 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Sane Prof
3 posts

I Am A Faust Newbie
Jan 13, 2003, 13:42
I've only recently got into Faust, having bought 'So Far' a couple of months ago, and yesterday I bought 'Faust IV'. Love the album...walking home from Glasgow city centre with 'Krautrock' roaring in my ears was a particular highlight...but is it my imagination, or does the tracklisting on the CD get 'Giggy Smile' mixed up with 'Picnic...'?

This is probably a terribly inane question, I know!
Howden
Howden
216 posts

Giggy Smile.
Jan 13, 2003, 17:15
I thought the same. The track I think is 'Giggy Smile' is quite dreadful. Vocals copy the same melody as the guitar, whereas the track before it is really very good. I still can't stand the reggae song.

Like yourself, Sane Prof, I'm just discovering the delights of this area of music that had passed me by, mainly due to a couple of compilation CDs sent by friends made on this site.

Recommend 'Neu! 75', if you've not heard it. Bought it around Xmas time for a tenner at Music Zone and I've not stopped playing it since. Brilliant. I've yet to go back to Music Zone to expand my Neu collection.
Fitter Stoke
Fitter Stoke
2608 posts

Faust IV
Jan 13, 2003, 19:31
'Giggy Smile' is the track that Howden dislikes so much, with the vocal line matching that of the guitar as he says. The lyric is (I think) 'Please me baby tease me and I love your giggy smile...'. 'Picnic On A Frozen River' is much more laid back and quite beautiful.

The CD is a disappointment I think, and needs remastering. It's a shame that ReR didn't get the rights to it, as their latest reissues of the other Faust classics are excellent. If you ever get the chance to pick up a decent vinyl copy, it's worth the investment.

Get 'The Faust Tapes' next!

DW
anthonyqkiernan
anthonyqkiernan
7087 posts

Telt Ye.
Jan 13, 2003, 21:04
As the sun goes down...

TonyK
242 posts

Faust v Can
Jan 14, 2003, 00:04