Unsung Forum »
Very British

Pages: 6 – [ Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 6 ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
keith a
9570 posts

Re: Very British
Dec 13, 2007, 16:25
I know I'll never be able to hold my head up in public again, but I liked Secret Affair - all the 'spokesman for a generation' stuff was bollocks, but I thought they made some decent pop singles (Time For Action, My World). And there was a really good track on the LP - I'm Not Free (But I'm Cheap) that even Peel raved about.

Saw The Purple Hearts live once. They were pretty good live as I remember it, though other than Millions Like Us (Oh no, they didn't!!) I can't remember their records.

Disagree what you say re mods/fighting though, Ian. Worst gig violence I ever saw was at Jam gigs. Fighting whilst the band was on. Throwing bottles at each other in the queues outside the gig. Pretty scary stuff.
IanB
IanB
6761 posts

Dec 13, 2007, 16:31
I am no expert. I'll definitely take your word for it!

I only saw the Jam twice first at The Marquee and then at the Lyceum (just before the release of the first Banshees album which dates it) and it was really tame in the crowd both nights.

They may very well have picked up a nastier element when they crossed-over into being a regular chart act.

Or maybe it's just that their London fans were a bunch of softies!

All I remember is a load of 14 year olds in harringtons and home made 'mod' jumpers a la the cover of the seocnd album.
keith a
9570 posts

Dec 13, 2007, 17:28
IanB wrote:
They may very well have picked up a nastier element when they crossed-over into being a regular chart act.

Yeah, following the mod revival. Think it was the time I saw them end of '79 when it was at its worst.
machineryelf
3681 posts

Dec 13, 2007, 18:51
I was chased by 4 parka clad youths whilst on my way to Southampton Gaumont to see Motorhead, seeing a lone longhair they decided on the grounds of musical taste to give me a good kicking.