Pages: 16 – [ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 9 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
handofdave
handofdave
3515 posts

Re: barack's nuts
Jul 14, 2008, 10:53
tinky10675 wrote:
Dave wrote..I'd like to see the USA help change the way it consumes energy first. We waste gigantic amounts of it.
So in the past 46 years Dave how exactly have you fixed this issue im just wondering...or do you need another 46 years? im just asking

Well, Tinky, I'm not an engineer, so to answer your question, I've done what I can, which is simply to not use more than needed.
And I've been advocating for clean energy and energy conservation all my life.

What I can't figure out is how you claim to be a green and at the same time defend the 'right' to live a bloated, overprivileged, war-maintained lifestyle. You're a walking contradiction.
Merrick
Merrick
2148 posts

Jul 14, 2008, 10:57
NIGEL - I understand your frustration at Tinky's position, but throwing in an insult isn't going to help things. It makes it less likely that the person being insulted will defend or rethink their statement, and more likely that they'll just feel victimised or (as Tinky's proved so capable at doing) respond with further insults.

The best way to show someone up who's not making any sense is to stick at the facts of what they say and not give them the getout of a slanging match. If we're so right then the arguments themselves are enough. If they're walked through why they're wrong they'd have to be pretty big to own up straight away, but we all know from personal experience that if we're beaten in a discussion we can find ourselves saying the things that were said against us later.