Julian Cope - Citizen Cain'd


Side One
1.  Hell is Wicked
2.  I Can't Hardly Stand It
3.  I'm Living In The Room They Found Saddam In
4.  Gimme Head
5.  Dying To Meet You
6.  I Will Be Absorbed

Side Two
1.  Feels Like A Crying Shame
2.  World War Pigs
3.  Stomping Dionysus
4.  Homeless Strangers
5.  The Living Dead
6.  Edge of Death

BUY CITIZEN CAIN'D (2xCD) – £12.99
Free P&P for UK orders

Audio clips & reviews to be added in the coming weeks
At last! January 2005CE finally brings forth Julian Cope's almost mythical album CITIZEN CAIN'D. Talked about in Cope interviews for 5 years and promised at concerts during Cope's 'between songs banter' for even longer than that, Head Heritage can now announce the release of this album of brand new songs. The 12 tracks include the long-time concert favourites "I'm Living in the Room They Found Saddam In" and "Feels Like A Crying Shame", the latter appearing in a blissed-out 11-minute incarnation. Although all the material would have fitted on to one single CD, Cope has chosen to release CITIZEN CAIN'D as two short CDs of 34 and 37 minutes respectively; taking this approach because he deemed several of the songs 'too psychologically exhausting' for one single listen. However, CITIZEN CAIN'D is being sold for a single album price, and arrives sumptuously packaged in a gloss black outer cardboard case and opaque black double-jewel case. This latter item has been, according to Cope, employed to ape the black obsidian of the Mediterranean, and certainly adds to the feeling of mystery that surrounds this record. Indeed, the combination of heavy fuzzed-out balladry and ostentatious packaging combine to lend this new album an atmosphere most reminiscent of his 1992 album JEHOVAHKILL. However, in true Cope style, the subject matter of CITIZEN CAIN'D is entirely 21st century in its content.