Doug Snyder The Daily Dance

Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Stevo
Stevo
6664 posts

Doug Snyder The Daily Dance
May 07, 2011, 00:01
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wznRTgdnrpI
static video unfortunately but 5 minutes from the edges of music. 2 Velvets/Stooges/Free-jazz fans in a kitchen in '72.
Just got the annual Ugly-Things copy which reviews the lp as released last year on cd.
Going dead cheap on Amazon.com marketplace from Jade hubertz whose name I know but can't place. Probably sticking foot in mouth if they're somebody I've had previous contact with.

So guitar exploration plus free-jazz drums. Sounds like a good thing to me. Do wish I could do it muyself
MC
638 posts

Re: Doug Snyder The Daily Dance
May 07, 2011, 16:22
Great album, way ahead of it's time. I emailed Doug last year about how the Stooges influenced the making of this album. Here's what he had to say:

"I drove from Cincinnati (where I was a university student) up to Detroit (about a four-hour drive) to see the MC5 (be sure and buy their three albums) record their live album (their first album) at the Grande Ballroom. That was in October of 1968. Their "little brother band," The Psychedelic Stooges, opened — although they came on later (!). The Stooges didn't have an album out, yet, and I hadn't heard them before, so I didn't know the music (as you may know, when Elektra signed the MC5, they also signed The Stooges). But I liked it. It was big and simple — and I had never heard anything quite like it. Plus, their singer was out in the audience, with a Ballroom bench on his back, intimidating the audience.

It was probably the summer of '69 when I saw The Stooges (+ MC5, Chuck Berry, Sun Ra, etc.) at the Detroit Rock 'n' Roll Revival — at an outdoor stadium. I don't recall if their first LP was out yet, but "I Wanna Be Your Dog" was in their set.