fauny fergus
fauny fergus
310 posts

Edited Sep 14, 2010, 20:37
Re: C93 - Aleph at Hallucinatory Mountain
Sep 14, 2010, 20:34
IanB wrote:
fauny fergus wrote:
Yeah, it depends on which bits of Black Ships annoyed you. The endless variations on Idumæa annoyed me and I quote liked Aleph, natch ymmv.

Not heard Baalstorm yet but will probably pick it up. I'm still hoping for another Nick Saloman collab.

I know little or nothing about this scene (such as it is) but am open to recommendations. Love a lot of the music i have heard especially when it dove-tails with Popol Vuh territory. The "Woe Is Me! I Left My Morris Bells At A Test Department Gig" vocals not so much.

I'm not that knowledgeable about the scene and tend to dip into it here and there - I'm a beginner myself in these parts. Tibet's apocalyptic bent mirrors my own interests and parts of my work - I started off listening because of that and loved some of his imagery - yeah, and even his delivery. Emotional, sometimes overwrought but always involved in what he's singing/saying. When I found he'd collaborated with Nick Saloman (Mr Bevis Frond and Woronzow records) I was hopeful.. and not disappointed: Hitler as Kalki (SDM) on Thunder Perfect Mind is an absolute favourite of mine - Tibet on a Revelation tip and Nick Saloman's sprawling psychedelic guitar trip coiling and uncoiling in the background. Fantastic.

Oh, and Tibet's reasons behind the song:

Tibet wrote: