some Mitsui gold archival's for my
really fave discs.

thoughts ?
achuma
achuma
503 posts

Re: Lifespan of cdrs
Jun 05, 2007, 06:32
Yeah, this bothers me sometimes, as I'm sure it does all of us who have awesome music in their collections that's only on a cd-r...
As far as my own music that I've made, I keep it all backed up on computer as well as 'naster copy' cd-r's.
As far as burns of LP's and other stuff, I'm yet to have one die on me. Fortunately I don't live in a humid climate where those 'cd-eating bacteria' can take hold. I also take excellent care of my discs and don't leave them in hot cars if I can help it. I started using Kodak gold discs but then moved on to TDK gold, which I've been using for about 7 years now with no problems. [Didn't have probs with the Kodak ones either - I just found the TDK ones were a bit easier to get and were cheaper, for the same level of quality]
I suspect most people who have problems with cd-r's dying can actually blame one or more of the following -
*using poor-quality discs
*burning them at too high a speed
*leaving discs in a hot car or other hot place
*use of stick-on labels
*poor storage of discs at home [so many idiots leave discs lying around out of cases]
handofdave
handofdave
3515 posts

Jun 05, 2007, 10:16
Another thing I've found about CDRs is that they tend to not like being filled to capacity... the last tracks on a full disk tend to be the first ones to fail to play.

My car CD player is more more touchy about 'em than my other decks. I keep master copies on the computer and burn new disks when the old ones give up the ghost.

Gold disks are better, but I wonder still about the long term. I don't think this tech is as 'archival' as the manufacturers would like us to think.

I've been seriously considering backing ALL my music up on a hard drive and selling off all the old vinyl and cassette tapes and CDs. Of course, hard drives fail too....
anthonyqkiernan
anthonyqkiernan
7087 posts

Jun 05, 2007, 10:23