Topic View: Flat | Threaded
tiompan
tiompan
5758 posts

Re: Cancer in the Neolithic?
Jan 27, 2017, 16:27
Evergreen Dazed wrote:
tiompan wrote:
The book appeared at the height of pm but the qualities you referred to earlier are all modernist , not pm .

From a stylistic view surely it isn't " rejecting rigid genre distinctions, emphasizing pastiche, parody, bricolage, irony, and playfulness. "

I accept your first point but not necessarily your second. I would say pastiche, irony and playfulness are all there in that book. Perhaps i've got it wrong, i'd like to hear other opinions on this.

Would you agree that modernism is a more conservative construct, in terms of order/disorder and grand narratives, things which pomo seeks to reject?

I'm no expert (as you can tell) but i'm sure I detect elements of pomo thinking in copes work!

The style of the book seems to be a gazeteer with observations by the author , that in itself puts it into the frame of a grand narrative , particularly if there is a "message ".

Irony ,pastiche and playfullness etc are all found in pre pm stuff . Their presence alone isn't enough to characterise it as pm .
A pm tma might have been an 19 th C diary showing the perspective 12 year old apprentice(with the same name as the author ) to a engineer named Aubrey Stook who has been commissioned by a railway company to work on the feasability of building a railway line near ancient sites like Stonehenge . Alternate chapters would be about a 21 st C archivist who discovers Stook is actually in the pay of Napoleon 111 and the diarist was later imprisoned for selling for faked diaries of antiquaries . etc .[/quote]

George, I think we're talking about different things.
My thinking is that Cope has been personally influenced by postmodern thought and that some of the themes can be detected in his work, in this particular case the MA book.