The Modern Antiquarian Forum »
Lewis and Harris »
Rubha Charnain and St Clement's, Roghadal

Topic View: Flat | Threaded
1speed
98 posts

Rubha Charnain and St Clement's, Roghadal
Oct 05, 2006, 21:45
I realise St Clement’s church in Roghadal falls outside the scope of this site, but I've just added three pics of a stone which can be found on the second floor of the tower there to the images for Rubha Charnain.

http://www.themodernantiquarian.com/site/8408

Given the proximity of the two sites, does anyone think there's any connection, or is it just coincidental? goffik?
goffik
goffik
3926 posts

Re: Rubha Charnain and St Clement's, Roghadal
Oct 06, 2006, 09:53
Cripes! Never noticed that! The central positioning in the stone makes it look all the more man-made to me. Although, as I've said many times - I'm no expert..!

I wonder if it may be related to a bullaun? Or something like the "Plague Stone" outside Zennor museum.

Good find! Wonder what other people think..?

G x
Hob
Hob
4033 posts

Oct 06, 2006, 10:12
I'm a bit stumped.

It's the raised lip around the bowl/cup/thingy that makes me suspicious. It sorta looks like there's peckmarks, but a raised lip is v unusual.
goffik
goffik
3926 posts

Oct 06, 2006, 10:50
Indeed! That's sort of why I was thinking less along the lines of cup-mark and more along the lines of... meh? ;o)

But it certainly looks very regular to me - too regular to be natural, I mean...

G x
1speed
98 posts

Oct 06, 2006, 12:27
goffik wrote:
Cripes! Never noticed that! The central positioning in the stone makes it look all the more man-made to me. Although, as I've said many times - I'm no expert..!

I wonder if it may be related to a bullaun? Or something like the "Plague Stone" outside Zennor museum.

Good find! Wonder what other people think..?

G x

Heh heh, I never noticed it the first time I went up the tower (earlier this year) either. This time it just leapt out at me.