Circles under churches

Pages: 28 – [ Previous | 112 13 14 15 16 17 | Next ]
Topic View: Flat | Threaded
Littlestone
Littlestone
5386 posts

Re: Circles under churches
May 23, 2005, 23:37
>The neighbouring (and older) church at Alton Barnes has massive sarsen stones forming its quoins - they are enormous and totally megalithic in character.<

Sorry to disagree with you Peter but the quoins at Alton Barnes appear to me to be of a soft sandstone and not of the much harder sarsen found in the area (I'm not an expert in this and am happy to be proved wrong). Neither am I sure that the church at Alton Barnes is actually older than the church at Alton Priors; the former is the smaller of the two but I need to check out their dates more carefully (perhaps also of interest is that the yew tree at Alton Barnes is considerably smaller than the yew at Alton Priors).

What did strike me while there over the weekend was the beautiful cobbled pathway that leads across the fields between the two churches. There are literally thousands and thousands of dressed stones making up the pathway - a real labour of love; I wonder when they were laid down but not that they appear to lead <i>from</i> Alton Barnes to Alton Priors.
juamei
juamei
2013 posts

May 24, 2005, 11:40
AFAIK Alton Barnes is a Saxon church whereas Alton Prior is Norman.
PeterH
PeterH
1180 posts

May 24, 2005, 13:14
That is correct. The monumental "Anglo-Saxon Architecture" by H.M. and J. Taylor states that "the nave is substantially pre-conquest fabric" and dated to Period C ie. AD 950 - 1100. Alton Priors is much younger, but that doesn't mean that an earlier church never existed on the same site. There is no evidence of one though.
Littlestone
Littlestone
5386 posts

May 24, 2005, 16:44
Thank you juamei for that info. Peter, however, makes a valid point when he says, "Alton Priors is much younger, but that doesn't mean that an earlier church never existed on the same site."